PLEASE NOTE THAT CE CREDIT IS ONLY AVAILABLE FOR THE LIVE PRESENTATION
 

The number one financial concern for Gen X parents is how to pay for college. College costs continue to rise and as a result, our national student loan debt has ballooned from $240 billion in 2003 to more than $1.6 trillion today. Planners' roles have to go beyond simply telling clients to save for the cost of college. Learn more about Joe Messinger's innovative College Pre-Approval process that demystifies financial aid and guides families through the maze.


Level of Complexity: Overview - General review of subject from a broad perspective/dive into basic knowledge on a skill or topic. For newer CFP or unfamiliar with subject

Course Objectives
  • Learn how the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) determines a families expected family contribution.
  • Learn how help families set a budget and shop for schools based on the four-year-out-of-pocket cost, not the sticker price.
  • Learn how to help clients maximize financial aid, minimize student loans, and ultimately pay less for college.
  • Discuss how to find schools that award generous scholarships regardless of need.
  • Understand the college financial aid system and the vastly different policies at different institutions.
  • Discuss the key differences in the FAFSA vs. the CSS Profile for determining a families demonstrated financial aid need.
Event Information
Start Time:
January 22, 2020 4:00 PM Eastern
3:00 PM Central, 2:00 PM Mountain, 1:00 PM Pacific
Add to Calendar:
Estimated Length:
1 hour
Registration Time Remaining:
1 day, 23 hours
FPA Member Price:
Free
Non-Member Price:
$49.00
Navigating the College Funding Maze and Helping Families Cut the Cost of Higher Education
Speaker Information
Joe Messinger, CFP, ChFC, CLU  [ view bio ]
Individual topic purchase: Selected
Financial Planning Association
CFP CE: 1.00
Products
Live Event + Archive
FPA Member Price:$0.00
Non-Member Price:$49.00